Still Unwrapped

Usually, I’m really good at putting things in nice little bows and wrapping it up.

But that didn’t happen here. I dropped the ball on my little corner of the internet. I’m choosing to blame life.

I’m going to back up the train for a minute.

The Farmer’s Market has ended. Several, several months ago. It ended on a very cold day. I enjoyed parts of it. But for the most part, it became a chore for me. With the Farmer’s Market, it was something I had to do. I like having baking in my back pocket as a stress reliever. And I enjoy being the birthday baker for my family and friends. And my small scale selling. So maybe having a bakery is still a ways down the road- still a far off dream. I’m not doing the Farmer’s Market this year because I have a wedding to plan!

photo

My boyfriend turned into my fiance. He had this great plan for proposing, and I unfortunately failed him. If I would’ve just done what he asked me to, we would’ve had pictures of the event. Before getting engaged, I really thought I wanted to have a picture of it. But I’ve realized I’m glad that we don’t. I’m glad that it’s a moment that we can tell people about, but we were the only ones who were truly there. I’m glad that it is a moment and a memory for just the two of us to share. When we finally did get engaged, it was in the dark of the night down by the water. And I said “Are you seriously doing this right now?!” when he got down on one knee. The poor guy puts up with a lot. But when it comes down to it, I’m so happy I have him. And I like to think he is happy he has me too.

We bought a house. So I had to pack up and move. But I didn’t mind that very much. One could say I have a gypsy spirit. I’ve spent the last several years of my life moving a lot. So now change and packing things is just a way of life for me. It’s weird to know that I will probably stay at this house for awhile. We also rescued our newest member of the family. He is an Australian Shepherd/Border Collie mix and his name is Milo. He is full of energy and full of love. His favorite things include laying on the patio, ripping fuzz out of toys, looking at himself in glass, sitting on our laps, and running circles in the yard.

I was prepared to graduate college and enter the transition phase of my life. Where I went through the ups and downs of transitioning from “young adult” to straight up “adult”. But nearly 3 years later, I still feel a little lost. While I am happy with those who surround me, I feel like I’ve just settled into this comfortable lull. There’s a part of me that feels like I’m going through the motions of life without really living. And that I don’t really know who I am yet.

Now, that’s not to say that I’m not happy- because that’s not what it is. I recently bought this wall hanging thing for our house and it says “Find Joy in the Journey”. And that’s what I’m trying to do. Currently, I feel like I have a lot of things to do, but at the same time, nothing at all. So I’ve been working on a list of things that I would like to do or accomplish by the time I’m 25. I don’t really like deadlines, but I figured I needed to set one for myself anyways and just see what happens. The goal is to check some things off the list and do some self care. And maybe find more of myself along the way.

I still plan to use this little corner of the internet. Some for baking and some for life. Because it is called “Frosting and All”. And it’s not always about the frosting. (But who am I kidding, because I made Banana Muffins and Chocolate Crinkle Cookies this weekend..)

Leave a Reply

