Ball of Smoke– Chocolate Marshmallow Whoopie Pies

Sometimes taking a new step is one of the hardest things there is to do. I used to be very much a creature of habit. I didn’t like change. Coming home from college one day, I arrived to greet my mom and said “why is there a screen door?”. I hadn’t been home in over a month, and my mom didn’t get a hello or anything. I just had a complaint with change. Another time, I walked in, said hello and gave her a hug, and walked into the living room where I notice a new TV stand. So I asked a million questions about where the old one went and why now. But with the past 1.5 years of my life- which I would compare to throwing a deck of cards in the air and seeing where they fall. I’ve had different jobs, different friends, different houses, and different states. Needless to say, I’ve had to get used to some change. And I’ve learned that change isn’t always a bad thing.

CHOCOLATE MARSHMALLOW WHOOPIE PIES

Chocolate Whoopie

Chocolate Whoopie

Still have a lot of love for Majesty. I ordered another flat beater so that I don’t have to wash it if I need to use it twice in one recipe (like this one). I also have this pouring shield, which works like a charm.

Chocolate Whoopie

Chocolate Whoopie

I have learned an important lesson with this whoopie pie experience. Wax paper and parchment paper are different. For some reason, I assumed they were interchangeable. So when the recipe suggested using parchment paper, all I had on hand was wax paper, so I put that on the pans and started to drop my batter on. I probably should’ve googled it first, but I didn’t. I let the first batch go, without a care in the world. I took it out and was hit by a ball of smoke. I thought “hmm..that’s strange”. I looked in the oven, saw nothing alarming, so I put the second batch in. This time, I stared at the oven. I noticed some smoke rolling out of the oven and I opened it and was hit by another large ball of smoke. I started to panic a little, because the last thing I want to do to is start a fire. I opened the door to the garage (where Josh was hiding out), peeked my head out, and said “Hey, so you don’t think it’s normal for smoke to be rolling out of the oven, right?” That got him off his feet. He joined me inside and said “Sarah, it looks like a pot house in here-what the hell?!”. Only it smelled like burning plastic. I hadn’t even realized how smoky it was until I stepped outside and came back in. We took the pans out and turned the ovens off. Josh transferred everything off the paper and onto the pans and got them back in the oven. He then ran around opening windows and turning on fans. I just stood there- stunned and defeated. Moral of the story- ensure you are using parchment paper and not wax paper. Also, Josh is just adding another tally to his “times I saved you” board.

Chocolate Whoopie

Growing up, I used to spend my summer days watching game shows from the 70s. They always used to say “whoopie” for any act of intimacy. I can’t help but smile a little when I say Whoopie (pie). That’s the mature side of me coming out.

Chocolate Whoopie

Chocolate Whoopie

This kind of reminded me a bit of an Oreo Cakester. If I would do this recipe again, I would probably use a different chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Marshmallow Whoopie Pies

1 2/3 cups flour

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons butter, at room temperature

4 tablespoons vegetable shortening

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup milk

Marshmallow Cream Filling

1/2 cup vegetable shortening

1/2 cup butter, at room temperature

1 cup confectioners sugar

1 1/3 cups Marshmallow Fluff

1/4 teaspoon salt dissolved in 1 tablespoon of water

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. Sift your flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt together in large bowl and set aside

2. In bowl of an electric mixer (or you could use a hand mixer), combine your butter, vegetable shortening, and brown sugar. Mix on low speed until combined. Switch to high speed and beat for about 3 more minutes.

3. Add egg and vanilla extract. Beat on high for about 2 minutes.

4. Alternate between adding half the flour mixture and half the milk mixture. Repeat with other half.

5. On cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, spoon 2 tablespoons of batter. Make sure to leave 1.5 inches in between so they don’t bake into each other. Bake at 375 for 8-9 minutes.

6. For Marshmallow filling: Combine vegetable shortening, butter, confectioners sugar, and marshmallow fluff in bowl. Beat on medium speed until combined. Then add vanilla extract and salt dissolved in water. Mix for about 30 seconds, until light and fluffy.

7. Allow whoopie pies to cool completely. Then using a knife or spoon, put filling onto the center of the flat side. Take a second whoopie pie and lay it flat side down over cream filling. Gently press down. Eat and enjoy!

Adapted from: The Novice Chef and Sprinkles of Parsley

Leave a Reply

