Meet Majesty-Caramel Apple Cupcakes

I had braces from October of my freshman year of high school to the August before my senior year. That’s almost 3 years. Though it felt much longer back then. But for real, my high school experience consisted of a lot of orthodontist visits. When I got those braces, the list of things to not eat included caramel and apples. Not only was the world out to get me since I had to get braces, but on top of that, I was being told I couldn’t eat what I considered to be the best ice cream topping in the world. I remember it came in a little booklet and I really wanted to follow the rules because I really wanted to have good teeth. I even got this cookbook with recipes you could make when you had braces. So I followed all those rules for awhile. But then I didn’t. And I would say I turned out just fine.

CARAMEL APPLE CUPCAKES

Caramel Apple Cupcakes

I love baking when I get home from work. I just get into my grove and get home around 5:15 and have cupcakes in the oven around 5:35. I always feel like I have my life in order when that happens.

Caramel Apple

Majesty

Oh, what’s that you see? It appears to be a KitchenAid Stand Mixer. Perhaps in the color of Majestic Yellow. That’s right, I finally did it. I took the plunge, pushed the order button, and thought of the next 20 years of happiness we will have together. Her name is Majesty, mostly because of the formal name for the color. I told my mom, I probably would consider it “butter yellow”, but what they picked does sound fancier. Based on the time we’ve had together so far, I think we will be very happy.

Caramel Apple

The frosting turned out pretty good. I love just pouring everything in and just walking away. SOOO much easier than the hand mixer. To master those piping skills, I need to let my frosting get a little thicker. Which I imagine will come as I learn the art of the KitchenAid.

Caramel Apple

These were good. They had a nice cinnamon-y caramel flavor and were super moist! They are pretty much muffins. So they were pretty much healthy.

Caramel Apple

CARAMEL APPLE CUPCAKES

Apple Cupcakes:

1 box white cake mix

2 tsp. cinnamon or apple pie spice

3 eggs

1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled

1/4 cup applesauce (which is equal to one of the little cups in the six pack of applesauce)

1 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup peeled, chopped apple (I used 2 large Granny Smith apples)

Caramel Buttercream:

1 cup butter, softened

2 T. caramel sauce

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3-4 cups powdered sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line pans with cupcake liners.

2. In small bowl, mix together cake mix and cinnamon.

3. In large bowl, combine eggs, melted butter, applesauce, milk, and vanilla extract.

4. Stir in cake mix and cinnamon mixture until smooth.

5. Stir in chopped apples.

6. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full and bake for 17-22 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean.

7. For Caramel Buttercream: Beat butter for 1 minute. Add caramel and vanilla extract and continue to beat. Slowly add powdered sugar until buttercream reaches the desired consistency. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes.

Copyright: Your Cup of Cake (with my modifications)

Baking with Braces

Flashback: Baking with braces.

Leave a Reply

