The First Sale- Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

I pride myself in being “that girl who makes cupcakes”. If you come into my kitchen, you will see it decorated a dessert theme. There is usually a coating of powdered sugar on everything you touch and a cupcake pan sitting on the table. So when I was asked by a co-worker to make cupcakes for her sons 7th birthday, of course I said yes. She just said something chocolate. I imagined myself as a 7 year old, and I would’ve been the kid at the party who would’ve been polite and ate the cupcake, but then went home and complained just a little that it was all chocolate. So I made something with chocolate that even little Sarah would’ve loved.

CHOCOLATE CHIP CUPCAKES

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

I’ve been working my way through this cookbook, Your Cup of Cake. I love it. It starts with cake mix and then goes from there. I am starting to get to the place where I want to start venturing out and trying to make some of my own variations of recipes and desserts. But you can type pretty much everything into Pinterest and you’ll get some sort of recipe. So I just think, why try to reinvent the wheel when the bike is already there..

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

These were so yummy! I don’t really like chocolate frosting, but this chocolate frosting was fabulous. I would make these and then eat a couple in a heart beat. It was like a little chocolate chip cookie, only more awesome. Because I don’t make cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

I got a different camera so I don’t have to use my phone anymore. I’m still trying to figure out how exactly to get it to focus and get the lighting right. So please excuse what will probably be the next few blog posts of some interesting looking pictures.

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Cupcakes:

1 box white cake mix

3 eggs

1/3 cup butter, melted and cooled

3/4 cup milk

3/4 cup sour cream

1 T. vanilla extract

1 cup mini chocolate chips

Chocolate Buttercream:

1 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 T. milk

3-4 cups powdered sugar

Mini chocolate chips for garnish

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line pan with cupcake liners.

2. In large bowl, use a whisk to gently combine eggs, melted butter, milk, sour cream, and vanilla extract.

3. Add cake mix and stir until smooth.

4. Stir in mini chocolate chips.

5. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full and bake 15-20 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean.

For Chocolate Buttercream: Beat butter for 2 minutes, scrape down the bowl, and beat again. Add cocoa, vanilla extract, and milk. Slowly add powdered sugar until buttercream reaches desired consistency. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes and top with mini chocolate chips.

Copyright: Your Cup of Cake (with minor edits)

Men at Work

My guy doing the dishes and his best friend sewing a button. This is what I like to see in my house. Men at work.

Leave a Reply

