With a Touch of Sophistication-Strawberry Cake

Growing up, my family probably had to eat more strawberry cake with vanilla frosting than the average family. That was where my heart was. Every time I had a birthday or I got to pick a dessert, I always picked strawberry cake with vanilla frosting. I don’t even know when I tried it for the first time, but I was hooked. Josh and I were talking about our childhoods and he told me his favorite has always been angel food cake. Clearly, he was more of a classy child. When I told him about mine, he reported that he has never even had it. And that’s a problem. Even though I don’t eat very much of it now, I was going to make that sacrifice so he could experience it. I was going to take one for the team. It just so happened Valentine’s Day was coming up. I know that Valentine’s Day is all about chocolate and red velvet, but strawberry is pink and screams love. We don’t really make a big thing for Valentine’s Day because our anniversary falls at the beginning of February. But deep down, I knew it was the perfect holiday to make my childhood favorite. Only, I’m an adult now so I made it in a bundt pan. Because if strawberry screams love, bundt pans scream sophistication. Maybe Josh had a fancy childhood, but I was going to make sure my dessert was fancy now. Either way, my inner child was happy.

Strawberry Bundt

Strawberry Bundt- overgreased

I really have no recipe. I had to go as authentic as I could. Which means, grab that box of Pillsbury Strawberry cake and bake it according to the directions on the box. Bake it in the bundt pan if you are feeling classy. Cool it and cover it with canned Whipped Vanilla Frosting on it.

Strawberry Bundt mess

I forgot to take a completed picture. When it was completed, we dove in. So the picture I got, it isn’t the prettiest- leftovers slapped in a container with the frosting coming off. Josh said it satisfied his sweet tooth and I promised to try making angel food cake when I get a stand mixer.  I don’t know if it tastes homemade, but it tastes like love and I had a smile on my face as I licked the frosting off my fingers. And that’s what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

