A Full Drawer–Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Cupcakes

The baking drawer in my kitchen now has 3 different kinds of scoops. One for ice cream, one for cupcakes, and one for mini cupcakes/cookies. All I’m saying is that both the drawer and myself are better because of it. And Josh appears to be fine with it because A) the designated ice cream scoop is the biggest and B) the other 2 scoops just happen to have yellow and purple handles…which are Viking colors..so that makes it ok. Of course he has been given instructions that I should never see him holding the purple or yellow scoops unless I also see him making me cookies. I love getting fun packages like scoops in the mail. Don’t listen to what anyone says about the frequency of my Amazon orders.

Scoops

So, when I ordered these scoops, I also ordered a book. I was flipping through it and there was this recipe and I just so happened to have some ripe bananas on my counter and all the other ingredients needed. The recipe uses a cake mix. I typically make completely homemade, but I’m ok with the cake mixes. The cake mix is really your “cake base”. Instead of having to measure out all the flour, sugar, and baking soda, it’s all there already. It definitely saves space on the counter.

CHOCOLATE BANANA PEANUT BUTTER CUPCAKES

Piped Cupcake

Isn’t that just the best name? This batter is pretty much liquid gold.

Liquid chocolate gold

This industrial scoop is so great. It’s the perfect size for cupcakes. You fill it all the way up and that’s the perfect amount to fill 3/4 of the liner. And it makes the best noise when you click the lever. Something about it just feels official.

photo 3

The chocolate and banana is incorporated into the cupcakes and the peanut butter is the frosting. This frosting turned out fabulous! It was a little thick, but it worked to pipe. My frosting didn’t get very high and stacked on the cupcake, but I really think it’s because the frosting was so think and wasn’t super fluffy. I was just so excited it was coming out of the piping tip, I didn’t even care that it was so much work that I almost started to sweat squeezing the frosting out. Either way, turned out fine. A step in the right direction. Plus when it comes down to it, I don’t like a whole lot of frosting, so it was good enough for me.

Cupcakes in a row

Success. And it covered all my food groups- fruit, chocolate, and peanut butter.

Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter

A wider version of the picture. Sadly, I didn’t even set this. Sometimes life is a little messy. :) Life is a little messy

Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Adapted from “Your Cup of Cake”

Chocolate Banana Cupcakes

1 box devil’s food cake mix

3/4 cup bananas, mashed (I used about 1 cup)

1/2 tsp lemon juice

3 eggs

1/2 cup plus 2 T. oil

1/2 cup milk or buttermilk (I used milk)

2 tsp. vanilla extract

Peanut Butter Buttercream

1/2 cup smooth peanut butter

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 tsp vanilla extract

4-5 cups powdered sugar

1-2 T milk

1) Preheat oven to 350 and line pans with cupcake liners

2) In small bowl, mash bananas and lemon juice together; set aside

3) In large bowl, combine eggs, oil, milk, and vanilla extract until smooth.

4) Add cake mix and mashed bananas; stir to combine well.

5) Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full and bake for 17-22 minutes. (I baked mine for 18 minutes)

6) Peanut Butter Buttercream: Beat butter and peanut butter for 2 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add vanilla extract. Add 1 T. milk and slowly add powdered sugar until buttercream reaches desired consistency. If buttercream becomes too thick, add an additional 1 T milk.

7) Frost and eat!

2 thoughts on “A Full Drawer–Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

