I Can Can!

There is nothing quite like the joy of having your boyfriend walking behind you through Walmart carrying canning jars chanting “I can’t believe you’re actually doing this.” Even better, is running…OK, skipping…through the house because you successfully did it! That’s correct, attempt 1 of apple butter is complete! I made 2 jars..because I was afraid it might not work, and at that point, I didn’t want to be stuck eating 8 jars of apple butter in the next couple weeks. Does it taste exactly like my grandma’s, no. Though it is definitely apple butter and pretty tasty at that. But before I made apple butter, I made cupcakes.

The cupcakes are red velvet with marshmallow buttercream. This frosting was not my friend this time. I’ve made it time and time again, and it always turned out better than this. Or maybe I always just thought it was better than this because I never had a piping bag prepped and ready to go. I was pretty close to either A) hoping in my car and driving to the store to buy frosting; or B) tossing my frosting across the kitchen. But I maintained my self control, barely. I made a decision once and for all that I am going to buy myself a KitchenAid stand mixer. I really want to be able to put frosting in the mixer and walk away and have it turn out perfect. I’m not really sure where I’m going to store it, but I will definitely find space. Even if I do have to rearrange the kitchen.

This 24 cup pan is one of the best things I ever drove store to store to find and buy. I’m in love.

photo 1

And this, well, this was a cheap impulse buy. In my defense, I will save money on toothpicks.. :)

photo 2

photo 3

Now, the apple butter. I can’t really share a recipe because I don’t really have a recipe. When I asked my grandma, she said “Put some apples on the stove to soften them. When they are soft, grind them up. Add as much sugar and cinnamon as you want. Then just put it in the oven.” Thanks grandma. So, I then asked my sister what she does. I got the same recipe, except with the variation of putting it in the juicer at the beginning and keeping it on the stove at the end. I learned pretty quick that it’s pretty adaptable. I started my grandma’s old school way (because I don’t have a fancy juicer or kids to drink the apple juice, like my sister) but ended it my sisters way (because I don’t have a giant roaster pan to put in the oven, like my grandma). Even though I don’t have a juicer or a roaster, I do have this awesome apple coring/peeler/slicer. It makes apples look like this in about 20 seconds. It’s fabulous.

photo 1 (1)

Obviously, I underestimated how much I should fill one of the jars. It looked good, then I tipped it upside down and watched it slide down the jar. Needless to say, that’s the one that’s currently in my fridge being spread on toast. But the other will be stored..like canned foods can.

photo 2 (1)

photo 3 (1)

Really though, it worked out. I successfully canned 1 jar (which would’ve been 2 if I wasn’t so nervous). Shocker of all shocks is that both the jars sealed and it actually tastes good. I can tell you that I’m opening the closet where I put the jar more frequently now. And every time I open the closet and see my little can, I squeal just a little bit.

2 thoughts on “I Can Can!

Leave a Reply

