Stress Baking and Sugar– Vanilla Cupcakes

So…I’m a bit of a stress baker. This past week has been a bit overwhelming. And it takes a lot for me to get to the point of overwhelmed. Usually I’m pretty good at handling stress. It’s been little things and it’s been big things all piled up. My emotional breakdown came last night…it was about time though. I had been waiting. :) I’ve got some good advice and have been told numerous times that I need to relax and not think about anything for awhile. But in reality, I don’t really know what it means to relax, but I needed to step back. So I baked. I’m a stress baker. Sue me.

Stress Baking- Vanilla Cupcakes

This is probably going to be written a little bit differently. I made a batch of vanilla cupcakes because I needed a recipe where I had everything at my house already. It also occured to me that I had never made vanilla cupcakes before. I didn’t take pictures the whole time, because it was simple and I wanted to just turn on my music and make some cupcakes.

I apologize that some of this pictures are bad quality. My camera wasn’t having a good day. And I was over it.

So I had a dream earlier this week. I never remember my dreams, but this one I did. In a nutshell, I was on a plane (the only people I remember being there was one of my uncles and one of my cousins, but it was full plane). The pilot came over the loudspeaker and said that he wanted to take a nap and asked who wanted to fly the plane. No one said anything so I said I would. I woke up when I was walking to the front of the plane. Now, I work in the psychology department at school. It just so happened that this is the week one of the professors is doing dream analysis in her class. She told me that my dream tells her 2 things about me. 1) Things keep piling up on my plate. -TRUE- 2) I have a hard time saying no and don’t like to disappoint people. -ALSO TRUE- Weird what dreams can tell you… :)

I decided to get fancy. I needed to pretend I was creative. And start practicing for when I have my own bakery in 20 years and appearance/presentation is important. :D

Well, they were a little dense. That could’ve just been all my pent up anger though. :) But next time I make vanilla cupcakes, I’ll be trying a different recipe.

Classic Vanilla Cupcakes
1/2 cup softened butter
3/4 to 1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
2/3 cup cold milk

Yield: 12 cupcakes.

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating after each addition. Stir in vanilla.

In a separate bowl, stir together all dry ingredients. Add to butter mixture; stir in milk.

Bake 18-24 minutes.

Halloween! This is Bria…we’re friends. :)

Leave a Reply

