Misadventures in Applesauce–Applesauce Cupcakes

The first fun fact on my “about me” page relates to applesauce. I eat a lot of applesauce. I love applesauce. I dip a lot of things in applesauce actually. Like animal crackers. And don’t even bother giving me wheat thins if there isn’t a side of applesauce. You can ask my roommate if you don’t believe me…she will probably tell you how disgusting it is, but I like it. :) I also can’t swallow pills without applesauce. So when I have a bad headache or something, I need applesauce to swallow the Advil. So I would say you could bet money that if you look in my fridge at any given time, there will be applesauce in there.

SUMMER 2012- APPLESAUCE CUPCAKES

The first step this round was mixing up the dry ingredients. Flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon whisked together in small bowl.

Then on to the batter. Putting together this batter was in a little different order than usual, but whatever, I rolled with it. :) So the quality of this picture is horrible, but if you ever want to feel like a professional baker, put a bunch of butter in a mixer. I promise you’ll feel pretty professional as you look at all that butter.

And yes, you did see a mixer. That’s right; I cried and begged enough to get a mixer!! :) (Actually, I didn’t shed any tears, but I complained a lot :D). I mean, it’s no Kitchen Aid but it gets the job done…not that I didn’t try for a  Kitchen Aid…actually I succeeded in making my household obtain one…but my mom and stepdad didn’t want it as much as I did so they returned it. I’m dangerous is I have my own agenda. Feel free to ask me that story later, it’s a good one. :) Anyways, after beating the butter, sugar was added and mixed in.

Egg time. I cracked the eggs and mixed some more. My egg cracking skills are getting kind of awesome. I’m mastering not getting any egg on my hand. Just saying.

Applesauce!! Up until this point, I would imagine you wouldn’t have been able to guess what kind of cupcakes I was making. And no worries, because I wouldn’t have been sure either. The good news, it was finally time for APPLESAUCE!

And vanilla. Can’t forget about that one.

I then had to measure out the apple juice so I could prepare to start alternating it with the dry ingredients. Side note: Yes, I was well aware of the fact I only needed half a cup. And yes, I did intentionally buy a giant thing of apple juice. Since I have to buy my own food, I feel like I have to justify things to myself more. “I need to buy apple juice for cupcakes”. When in reality- I did, but I also just like apple juice.

Mixing. I’m liking having my hands free during this mixing process.

BATTER IS COMPLETE. That’s my own personal pink spatula by the way.

Have I ever mentioned how lucky I am? I don’t think I have. And I’m not going to because that would simply be a lie. My mom and I joke about how we never win anything. Well I definitely hit a bump in the road with this. Good news, my oven wasn’t working. I realized this when I was done mixing up the batter. It started preheating, but then shut itself off and wouldn’t turn back on.  In crisis mode, I contacted a few of my friends who I knew were in town and when that didn’t work- I made my own plan. I was going to put everything in my car, and take a trip to the open residence hall and use a kitchen there. Yes, this is my batter on the floor of my car.

I don’t know if I’m cut out to be a delivery driver. Every time I stepped on my breaks, I watched that bowl slide around. I’m definitely not built to handle that cut throat world…yet. But once I reached my destination, I was able to scope my cupcakes. After I ran back out of my car to turn of my lights of course. -.-

After waiting for the oven to preheat (which felt like hours), it was finally time to bake.

The plus was that I was able to use the internet while I waited. I don’t have internet in my house, so that was kind of a nice thing. Even though I would’ve rather been home. But oh well, because eventually they were done.

Now came the part when I loaded up in my car and headed back to finish. This whole thing was turning into much more of a process than I expected. I figured it was a good day though because it wasn’t raining. :) Finally, I was back in the comfort of my kitchen.

Frosting time. This is the same vanilla buttercream frosting I’ve made time and time again. It was even from a different book, but it was exactly the same. Again with the sugar and butter.

Frosting was done after some milk, vanilla and some mixing.

PIPING TIME. I love this part.

My skill is slowly getting better. I’m trying to figure out what looks best and find my rhythm.

Before I ate one, I loaded the rest into my cupcake carousel. I got this for Christmas and it is honestly one of the best inventions in the world. It makes traveling with cupcakes super easy. And it’s great to load it right away-it makes storage so simple. Plus you know, in case your alarm doesn’t go off the next morning or something and you’re bringing cupcakes to work…the work that you are now late too. It makes it easy to just grab the handle and head out. I mean, that could happen to anyone, right?!

They were good. Honestly, they tasted like the apples and cinnamon ones I made last summer. Like identical. Which didn’t surprise me at all. But they were good. I brought them to both of the places I work, and they were enjoyed. So I would say it was a success.

Applesauce Cupcakes

From: Betty Crockers Big Book of Cupcakes

2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

2 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon cinnamon

1 cup butter or margarine, softened

1 ¼ cups sugar

3 eggs

½ cup applesauce

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ cup apple juice

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Place paper baking cup in each of 24 regular-size muffin cups.
  2. In medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon; set aside.
  3. In large bowl, beat butter with electric mixer on medium speed 30 seconds. Gradually add sugar, about ¼ cup at a time, beating well after each addition and scraping bowl occasionally. Beat 2 minutes longer. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in applesauce and vanilla. On low speed, alternately add flour mixture, about 1/3 of mixture at a time, and apple juice, about ½ at a time, beating just until blended.
  4. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups, filling each about 2/3 full.
  5. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown and toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans 5 minutes. Remove cupcakes from pans; place on cooling racks.
  6. Make Vanilla Buttercream Frosting as directed in recipe.

Click here for the frosting recipe.

It’s summer. Which means I actually get to see my friends once in a while. And it’s all of us together- not just a few. Well, kind of. Considering 2 of us aren’t living at home…partly my fault. :)

One thought on “Misadventures in Applesauce–Applesauce Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

