Sugar and Spice. Brownies and Ice.

As if you didn’t know this from creeping your Facebook newsfeed, there’s snow outside! Now, this is rather bittersweet –chocolate- for me. Now that I live up on North Campus, I have to walk more…and with snow, I could potentially freeze my feet off…or slip and make a fool of myself. The second one is much more likely…oh well. But, now I can drink hot chocolate and feel beautiful doing so. If only I had a fireplace…actually I don’t like fire, who am I kidding.

One of my friends decided that snow meant it was acceptable to get into the Christmas spirit, and that meant baking time. Though we didn’t bake cupcakes, this blog has been collecting dust, and that’s not acceptable to me. I’ve been debating on posting random life ramblings on here because it has been empty and lonely. But this baking came at perfect timing. So here is winter baking session number one: inspired by snowfall.

This is Laura. Laura has celiac disease…which means she’s gluten free. She wanted to make her gluten free brownies. So we did just that.

Before we could start baking though, we had to clean up the nasty mess left behind by whoever used the kitchen before us. Yay dorm life…?

Mixing the brownies. It was the bag of mix, egg, oil and water.

Into the pan they go. They were really thick. REALLY thick. But LOOK, chocolate chucks!

Ready to go in to oven. Look, it’s shiny. I really hate my camera sometimes.

This is what they looked like when they came out of the oven. :)

We also decided to make some cookies for those of us who could eat gluten. Of course, we cheated and used the kind that you just break apart…and yet the ones that I was in charge of failed. People don’t believe me when I say I can’t make cookies…

But they turned out and were still edible….and yummy.

…I love close up shots. Even though they take no real skill whatsoever, I don’t care. :)

And while the cookies were baking, we ate brownies. They were pretty tasty. They were heavier for sure and had more of an intense chocolate flavor. If you make them, I’ll warn you that you’ll either like them or you won’t. I liked them, but they were heavy. But again I say, heavy or not, we still ate them. I mean, come on, it’s chocolate and we’re female.

Now begins some randomness… :)

We took this picture after we baked. This picture makes me smile. I actually laugh every time I look at it. This is Laura, my current roommate Kristin, and I. The 3 of us are living together next year (as I mentioned lease signing here).  We are going to have a lovely time. 2 of us like pictures more than 1…I’ll let you figure out that one on your own. Pretty sure this picture is getting framed though… ;)

Sugar= Baking Ingredient

Spice= Baking Ingredient

Brownies= What we made

Ice= 2 meanings. 1) What is outside making it scary to drive and causing people to glide as they walk. 2) What I’ve been putting on my bruises for the past week.  

I love baking and swing dancing. That’s my life and my story and I’m sticking to it. :)

Leave a Reply

