Pumpkins and Sprinkles

Happy Halloween to everyone! And happy birthday to my father!

My roommate had a sorority sisterhood dealie that she planned last Tuesday. Of course, she decided that she would use my love of baking for her advantage. She had intended on making them herself, but she overslept and was running late. She “asked” me if I would do it. Because I’m a FANTASTIC ROOMMATE, I said I would. :) Well…it was just a box mix…but still. We made the frosting homemade though (I shall include the recipe at the end, as I don’t think I’ve used this one before). I’d also like to take this time to point out that my piping skills are getting better every time! Whoo!

I didn’t take pictures because it was from a box. Pretty self explanatory. Though I did have my first incident…

You see, I’m usually pretty careful around ovens as I dislike the heat. When it came time to take the cupcakes out of the oven, I opened the oven and I grabbed my pot holder in my RIGHT hand. I then reached in the oven to pull out the cupcakes with my LEFT hand. Makes perfect sense, right? Yeah, I wouldn’t suggest it…I pressed my thumb onto the pan and it took me a good half second to realize what I was doing. I wanted to scream…it was a wee bit painful…and red. But I grabbed my oven mitt then and got the cupcakes out. Then I went over to the sink and put my thumb under some water (not sure if that is what you are supposed to do- but it had like its own heat coming off it). It wasn’t a bad burn by any means; it was just a little sensitive and shiny for a couple days. It was enough to teach me a lesson. The pot holder is not simply a prop.

Kristin ended up bringing some cupcakes back to our room afterwards, so then we had an abundance of cupcakes. I know it doesn’t seem like a problem to most people, but it happens to us so much it gets annoying. The next evening we had little kids knocking on our door for a campus trick or treating event (there was a little girl dressed as a cupcake! She got an extra piece of candy). We figured we probably couldn’t give out cupcakes that way. What would parents say if we said “If you say trick or treat twice, we’ll give you a cupcake”? Of course, that line worked on our RA when he was walking past. Win.

Seriously, look at that piping skill! :)

Anyways, there really was no point to this post. I mean, except to complain about my close incident of burning myself and to show pictures of my piping. Whoo! I hope you all have a lovely Halloween, and you’ve stocked up on candy. 2011 has an end in sight already…anyone else panicking?

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

6 cups powdered sugar

2/3 cup butter, softened

1 tablespoon vanilla

3 to 4 tablespoons milk

1. In large bowl, mix powdered sugar and butter with spoon or electric mixer on low speed. Stir in vanilla and 3 tablespoons of the milk.

2. Gradually beat in just enough remaining milk to make frosting smooth and spreadable. If frosting is too thick, beat in more milk, a few drops at a time. If frosting becomes too thin, beat in a small amount of powdered sugar.

 

2 thoughts on “Pumpkins and Sprinkles

  1. Pingback: Misadventures in Applesauce « frosting and all

Leave a Reply

