Feisty meet Zesty–Margarita Cupcakes

Hello again! Look, I’m back! It’s been a month but I’m back!

And because it’s been a month, I can tell you now; this post is going to be longer than normal. I’ve made cupcakes 3 times. But I’ve decided to just talk about 2 in this post, and I’m actually making cupcakes tonight, so then there will be another post of 2. :)

There are a few things I would like to clear up first:

-Yes, this post is late and I will take full responsibility (actually it’s your fault :D)

-This is late because I do too many things…but I love them all. Here is a taste of what I do…

*16 credits of school (weekend class makes 17)

*Minimum of 10 hours of working a week

*2 clubs (one of which I’m on the board for)

*Line dancing on Tuesday night at the Moose Lodge with my adopted grandma :D

*Teaching a 3rd grade religion class

*Currently, figuring out housing for next year (yes, it’s October and I just signed a lease for next year …scary…adulthood…)

*Call my family occasionally and bond with friends here at school

*I guess I eat and sleep a little as well

But then again, life wouldn’t be fun if it wasn’t as crazy. At least for me. I don’t like being bored. Except at work :)

Now…back to cupcakes (though I can’t promise I won’t start rambling about my life again…it’s been one of those weeks). A couple of weeks ago, I made cupcakes. The week after that, I made a giant cupcake. But I’ll start at the beginning…

CUPCAKE 15- MARGARITA (though I called them lime)

The cookbook said these were margarita cupcakes….I just refer to them as lime. Call me a goody goody or whatever you please, but I’ve never had a real margarita. And you know what, I’m ok with that. It’s just a personal choice that I have made for my own personal reasons (that I will happily share if you would approach me and ask me).

The first thing I did was crush pretzels. Whoo. I love pretzels. :)

Once I got myself organized (and grabbed people to join me), I made my way to the floor kitchen. It’s pretty nice for a dorm. Of course my dorm is remodeled… :) When we got there, I mixed the pretzels with the butter and sugar.

And put them in the liners.

After running to the mini mart, to get a new cake mix (yes, I messed up the first one…added the mix to butter…wrong…I pouted), it was time to make the cupcakes themselves. This is me doing just that. First the margarita mix…

Water and then the oil…

Next was my favorite part…I’ll let you figure it out.

Mix, mix, mix. Mix, mix, mix. Mix your batter.

In comes the zesty. This is where feisty and zesty met for the first time.

Then it was scooping time. Note to self: Must invest in ice cream scoop. It would make this process so much easier, plus it will give me an excuse to eat ice cream.

And in the oven they went! And yes, I am aware that I pushed it in with a single finger. I dislike the oven heat. Don’t judge.

While waiting, my roommate and I ate. We like eating…especially when it’s yummy unhealthy stuff.

Before we knew it, they were ready to come out of the oven.

It was then time to start whipping together the frosting. If you can even call it frosting…it was simple and didn’t require much effort. Look, yogurt!

Well…yeah, that was pretty much it. Added some lime zest and…yep, done.

This is Laura. She frosted some for me. Kristin (my roommate) did the rest. Kristin piped them. She wanted to feel fancy.

So I didn’t take a bite picture this time…I forgot :( Plus I didn’t really eat these. I was making them for a family get-together. My favorite aunt from Illinois picked the flavor too. I was mostly the labor. But they were a hit. This is one that Kristin frosted…look, fancy. :)

CUPCAKE 15.5- GIANT CUPCAKE

The next cupcake adventure doesn’t have as much documentation. But I’ll still briefly share. I made a giant cupcake for a special celebration. You see, my mom got married late September. (The following picture is for your viewing pleasure- my mom, my younger brother, and myself)

She ordered cupcakes, yes that’s right, SHE ORDERED CUPCAKES. I was bitter. Seriously we didn’t talk for like 30 minutes…it was intense. She didn’t want me to make a mess of her kitchen the day before her wedding. Psh, I’m clean. Anyways, it was decided that I could try out one of those giant cupcake molds and make a big cupcake for the reception. We decided on strawberry filling. I went to a family friend’s house (as she still refused to let me use her kitchen) and I made a giant cupcake. Exhibit A:

And everyone was happy. I didn’t try it, but apparently it was good. (I’m such a bad person, I rarely eat what I make. I prefer the baking part). Though I did try one of the cupcakes she ordered, and it was good. But I’m still bitter. But my favorite part is that the giant cupcake looks like a gnome’s house. It makes me not so bitter anymore. :)

If you have made it through this blog post, I applaud you. Also, I should probably explain the title of this blog post. “Feisty meet Zesty.” Well, when I was in high school (all of 2 years ago), my speech coach always called me “feisty one”. Because out of the captains of the team (and much of the team), I was the most…let’s go with spirited and energetic. Seriously, we’d get on that bus at 6 am and I’d be bouncing up the aisle. Not to mention, feisty can also mean aggressive and go-getter. Which can be both good and bad. Because of this, I have some grand memories of my speech coach and myself getting in yelling matches. The worst was when we had a screaming match about something I don’t even remember, then we swore at each other and I stormed out of the room….we were both having off days. Ever since then, I like to use feisty as a word to describe myself. And limes are zesty. End of story.

Margarita Cupcakes

From Betty Crocker’s The Big Book of Cupcakes

3/4 cup crushed pretzels

2 tablespoons butter, melted

1 tablespoon sugar

White cake mix

3/4 cup nonalcoholic margarita mix

1/3 cup vegetable oil

2 teaspoons grated lime peel

4 egg whites

Frosting

1 ½ cups frozen (thawed) whipped cream

2 containers (6 oz each) Key Lime pie low-fat yogurt

2 teaspoons grated lime peel

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Place paper baking cup in each of 24 regular-size muffin cups. In small bowl, mix pretzels, butter and sugar. Spoon about 1 tablespoon pretzel mixture into each muffin cup.
  2. Make white cupcakes as directed on box except- use margarita mix, water, vegetable oil, lime peels and egg whites. Bake and cool as directed.
  3. In medium bowl, fold whipped topping, lime yogurt and 2 teaspoons lime peel until blended. Frost cupcakes.
  4. Makes 24 cupcakes

.

One thought on “Feisty meet Zesty–Margarita Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Sugar and Spice. Brownies and Ice. « frosting and all

Leave a Reply

