It Finally Happened–Banana Cream Cupcakes

This was an eventful cupcake experience. An experience like no other. There were highs and there were lows. There was awkwardly smiling at the cupcakes and there was awkwardly cursing the cupcakes. The cupcakes were going grand, until it all ran down the sides and ran down my hands. Then it wasn’t such a high note anymore.

WEEK 13- BANANA CREAM CUPCAKES

When I was picking cupcakes, I had a bit of a hard time. I couldn’t decide between Boston Cream and Banana Cream. Yes, I know they are very similar, that was the point. I wanted to do a cupcake with a filling-like center. It was time for that to finally happen. And I like pudding which both of these required. I ultimately decided on Banana because the Boston ones involved making chocolate topping on the stove, and I just wasn’t in the mood for that. Before I got started, I went to the store and picked up some pudding and some WHIPPED cream (yes, I did capitalize it for a reason…). This recipe involved using a box mix. Which I was fine with. I was in the mood for something easy. I mean, come on, there was “Cupcake Wars” marathon on.

So first you make your yellow cake box mix. Simple enough.

Following that, you scoop the yellow cake into the liners. See, this part comes together very quickly.

And into the oven they go.

Then, MAKE PUDDING! Just the instant banana pudding. Again, follow the directions on the box.

After it is all mixed together, it needs to be popped in the fridge to set up. The setting up step is rather important. :)

By this time, my little friends were out of the oven. I should’ve taken them out a couple minutes earlier, but it was all good.

Well waiting for the cupcakes to cool, I mixed up the whipped cream and sugar.

It was the perfect consistency for frosting when it was first mixed. It was quite lovely. I was excited.

The cupcakes were cooled and ready to go. The first part of this filling was to cut out a hole in the top of a cupcake. Another way to do it would be to use a melon baller, but I just used a knife because I’m not even sure my house has a melon baller. Plus, for my first time, I felt a knife would be safer and give me more control.

First, cut a circle in the center of the cupcake.

Then push the knife down a little ways to loosen the circle.

With the knife still underneath, push the circle up and pop it out.

Then you will have a rough indent in the cupcake top. (Sorry, the picture is a little blurring for this).

I then tipped mine upside down and scraped out the inside of the circle to make it more the size I wanted and cleaner.

Congrats, you just carved a hole in a cupcake! Win.

Eventually, I had cut holes in all of them. It took me awhile because I kept running out to the living room to watch Cupcakes Wars.

After that, I took the pudding out of the fridge and started to fill the cupcakes. I filled the hole completely and had a little pudding coming out of the hole. I like pudding, so I wanted a decent amount. :)

Before I knew it, I had filled all my cupcakes!

And then…first I must say, I’ve never had to junk/throw away anything before while baking cupcakes. But…it finally happened. You remember earlier, when I mixed up my whipped cream and sugar. Well, I had it sitting on the counter while I was carving and filling the cupcakes, and when I was ready to put it on the cupcakes, this cream was a runny mess. I figured I made it too early and let it sit for too long. I decided “hey, I’ll just put it in the freezer for a bit to firm back up.” So I did just that. Left the cupcakes on the counter, put the whipped cream/sugar in the freezer and sat on the couch and enjoyed some Cupcake Wars (where they always have to throw things away, so I didn’t feel as bad).

About 30 minutes later, I figured it should be good. Went to the freezer and pulled it out. I mixed it up a little bit. My plan wasn’t working. It was kind of firming up…actually I don’t even know if you can call it firm. It was…well, it just got chunky. Like, nasty and still runny in some spots chunky. I know there was no saving it. So I dumped it.

It was now 9:30 pm and I hoped back into my car to go back to the store. The same guy rang up my items. I bought WHIPPED cream, again. Went home, mixed it again, made a homemade piping bag and started frosting right away. The second it hit the cupcakes, it started to run. I was so confused as the cupcakes were as cool as they could get. But I went with it. And then they were done. And they were sloppy. And they weren’t pretty. And they were messy. And I wasn’t happy. I tried one, put them in the fridge and called it a night.

The next day my mom got home (I had the house to myself for the weekend when I made these. It was lovely). I told her the story. I told her how I had to throw something away for the first time. Then…she confirmed the fact that my mom is a little bit wiser (mom, if you’re ready this, this was the ONLY time you will ever be wiser. Don’t let it go to your head). I would probably bring her on Cupcake Wars if I would ever go on it. Anyways, she pointed out…the recipe said “WHIPPING” cream, not “WHIPPED” cream. The whole point of the whipping cream and sugar was to make my own whipped cream. I already had perfectly good whipped cream and I was beating it and destroying it. It was a major fail. I then stomped off and pouted a little bit. But the cupcakes runny tops are still edible. Plus it’s fun to watch people eat them. :)

These were so yummy. I’m going to make more filling cupcakes. The banana flavored in through the whole cupcakes and then you get a nice glob of it in the center. I would suggest these to anyone. And you can just use a box mix and then mix together some pudding. Pretty simple. And then you could use whipped cream from the store as well. These really could come together really well. These were very tasty. A little messy, but yours won’t be. My first filled cupcakes and my first junk while baking, it all finally happened.

Banana Cream Pie Cupcakes

Recipe from: The Cupcake Bible

1 package (about 18 ounces) yellow cake mix, plus ingredients to prepare mix

1 package ( 4-serving size) banana instant pudding and pie filling mix

2 cups cold milk

1 tablespoon sugar

2 cups cold whipping cream

1)      Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 24 standard muffin cups with paper baking cups. Prepare cake mix according to package directions. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling two-thirds full.

2)      Bake 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted into centers comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 minutes. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.

3)      Prepare pudding using milk according to package directions. Refrigerate until set.

4)      Beat whipping cream and sugar in large bowl with electric mixer at medium-high speed until stiff peaks form.

5)      Using a sharp knife, cut out 1 inch hole in top of each cupcake. Fill with pudding; save remaining pudding for another use (SARAH RAE NOTE: or you can just take it for lunch the next day :D). Using piping bag, pipe whipped cream onto cupcakes.

One thought on “It Finally Happened–Banana Cream Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Sarah’s Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

