It’s Bananas!– Banana Cupcakes

These cupcakes were requested. By that, I mean I gave my coworker a choice of 2 kinds of cupcakes. The day I brought these to work was her last day, so I decided to be a good person and let her choose her last cupcake. I spoil these people so much. And now we are all getting closer to leaving for school, and no more cupcakes. Well…for them anyways…mwahahaha! That’s right, I don’t know if giving up cupcakes is going to be easy for me. And by that I mean, I think my roommate and others I run into are going to be happy, I mean we are poor, dessert deprived college students. Whether I’m sad, mad, happy or bored, I have found baking is a good release for me. Much to the pleasure of those around me. But don’t worry faithful readers, I’m not going back to school yet. You can’t get rid of me that easily! Anyways, cupcakes…

WEEK 11- Banana Cupcakes

So what I was expecting out of these cupcakes…I was expecting banana bread muffins. But, who doesn’t love bananas (especially in bread form), so of course I made them. First thing to do was mash the bananas. (Please refer back to the opening paragraph when I mention emotions. Might I suggest visualizing someone’s face while smashing bananas. No, I’m not promoting violence. I’m saying all for mental images of head smashing, there’s a big difference. :D)

After I had my bananas mashed, I mixed the dry ingredients. You probably know as well as I do how that works already, so I will spare you the picture. Seriously, I could mix dry ingredients in my sleep. After that, the recipe says to make a well in the center. This was a new one for me. I made a well the way I imagined it should be, right or wrong, I’m not sure. All I know is it worked just fine.

Then I put the neccescary ingredients into the well. It looked appealing…

Mix, mix, mix. After mixing (but, you know, not overmixing), I had what looked like edible batter. Win.

It was already filling time.

And before I knew it, I was popping these cuppy cakes in the oven.

Now I made the frosting. It was a honey-cinnamon flavored frosting. Just those words makes me want to die (in a good way). Both are so yummy and smell splendid, so this frosting was bound to be a win.

This frosting was in fact a win. The flavor was so subtle and beautiful. The down side, this made hardly enough frosting.  I would suggest doubling this recipe if you like to pile your frosting on.

By this time, the cupcakes were out and cooling.

So…frosting. This was a mess. First I was going to pipe it on. Yeah, that didn’t work. I would say the frosting was too thin for that. I’m not exactly sure what happened there. All I know is I was silently cursing about the frosting I wasted (I didn’t have enough frosting to waste some). So then I just went with the spreading technique. Well between the still slightly warmish cupcakes, and the kitchen temperature being like, you know, a sauna, the frosting was touching the cupcakes and starting to melt. More silent cursing and madly spreading the frosting on so I could get them into the fridge.

The frosting isn’t as pretty as I was going for, but they all had frosting on their tops, so I said good enough. I honestly think I’m the only one who cares about how pretty they look. Let’s be serious here, everyone else just smiles and devours.

Now it was time for me to taste. My expectation of banana bread was in fact true. Only, this had frosting so that made it better than usually banana bread. These cupcakes can honestly be ate at anytime of the day and be pleasant no matter what. I would make these again and I suggest you make them. They were very good and rather easy. You won’t drive yourself too bananas making them. :)

Banana Cupcakes with Honey-Cinnamon Frosting

From www.marthastewart.com

Cupcakes

½ cups all purpose flour

¾ cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

1 ½ cups mashed bananas (about 4 ripe bananas), plus 1 whole banana, for garnish (optional)

2 large eggs

½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Line a standard muffin pan with paper liners. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  2. Make a well in center of flour mixture. In well, mix together butter, mashed bananas, eggs, and vanilla. Stir to incorporate flour mixture (do not overmix). Dividing evenly, spoon batter into muffin cups.
  3. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of a cupcake comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes. Remove cupcakes from pan; cool completely on a wire rack. Spread tops with frosting. Just before serving, peel and slice banana into rounds, and place one on each cupcake, if desired.

Honey-Cinnamon Frosting 

1 ¼ cup confectioners’ sugar

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 tablespoon honey

1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

  1. In a medium bowl, using an electric mixer, beat confectioners’ sugar, unsalted butter, honey and ground cinnamon until smooth, 4-5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

