Fight Fire with S’mores–S’more Cupcakes

Earlier this week, my friends were making fun of me. Of course that’s nothing new. But I was talking about how I hate the feeling of opening the oven and getting all that steaming hot air blown in your face. Well, this week, has been a steamy mess of hot air outside too. It’s like living in an oven. All. The. Time. Yay humidity! Oh wait, did I say “yay”, my mistake…Anyways, with all this heat, it makes me think of fire. Because, you know, fires give off heat…of course that heat is wanted. My friends and I do bonfires sometimes and aside from “roasting” hot dogs (aka putting them over the fire for about 45 seconds, and eating it basically cold), we always make s’mores. And typically, we take pictures of each other eating them. Because you doesn’t want one s’more picture? As if you haven’t figured out the cupcake of the week…
WEEK 9- S’MORE CUPCAKES

So the first thing I did was crush graham crackers. I love the graham cracker smell. I had planned to put them in a ziplock bag and then just crunch them with my hands. BUT when I was going to get the bag, I saw this tiny rolling pin in that drawer as well. I literally smiled at the rolling pin and knew it would make it more fun. The 1 ½ cups were a whole pack of graham crackers for me (9 sheets of 4 pieces)

Then I mixed the graham cracker crumbs with my other dry ingredients.

Oil, sugar, and butter. Yummy. And then eggs and vanilla.

The next part called to add the dry ingredients alternatively to that mixture with the milk. That was interesting. The recipe states that it will make 12 cupcakes but when I was doing this adding, I knew that I would have more than just 12. But it often works like that for me. Sometimes the recipe says it will make 12 and I’ll get 4, while other times I’ll get 24. I’m not exactly sure how that works.

Chocolate chip time! I love chocolate chips. :)

It was now scooping time. I might take a moment to pat myself on the back. I’m getting better at filling the muffin tins more equally. It’s kind of a big deal.

And into the oven they went.

While they were in the oven, I washed dishes. It was less than thrilling. My mom wasn’t home to do that part for me :( Yes, it was traumatic. Note to self: When I open a bakery, hire a dishwasher. After they had baked for about 10 minutes, I took them out to put the marshmallows on top. The recipe said to do it before putting them in but there was a comment on the recipe that someone did that and it melted and ran all over. For the fear of having to clean marshmallow goo off everything, I decided to put them in about halfway through the baking time.

When I do things halfway through, I always feel like I have to rush and get them back in the oven. I only hit my finger on the pan once this time though. I would call that a win. Then back in the oven they went.

By this time, I had finished the dishes, so I did what everyone would do. I sat on the floor in front of the oven and watched them bake. I wanted to see what the marshmallows were going to do and I had nothing better to do anyways. It was fun to watch. First they puffed and then they started browning. When I turned away, they deflated a bit. Clearly, the fact that I was watching kept them going.

I took them out of the oven and then I realized that was it. Usually, I get excited waiting for them to cool because then I get to frost which is a whole different adventure. But the marshmallows served as “frosting” this round. It was a little soul crushing. But they smelled like s’mores, it was insane. So I quickly got over the fact that there was nothing to frost because of the glorious smell. I wish I could’ve taken a picture of that smell, but I couldn’t.

My almost step-dad then asked me if I wanted to go on a motorcycle ride. Sadly, I was busy staring at my cupcakes. I then decided it was time to taste one (even if it wasn’t completely cooled) and I would leave the rest on the counter while I was gone.

They were tasty. They smelled more like s’mores then they tasted. It was a minor disappointment. I would make them again (and I plan to), but I’m going to tweak the recipe a little. More graham cracker, less chocolate chips, and a marshmallow frosting (and possibly a torched marshmallow for garnish). Don’t get me wrong, they would good and I would recommend making them. But the smell compared to the taste didn’t add up. The chocolate chips took over the graham cracker batter. I tried the batter before I scooped and it did taste very good. So either less chocolate chips or mini chocolate chips probably would’ve been better. Now I need to have a bonfire…and a legit s’more.

Recipe from: blogs.babble.com

S’more Cupcakes

1 ½ cups graham cracker crumbs

½ cup all purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. salt

¼ cup butter (1/2 a stick)

¼ cup canola oil

½ cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

¾ cup milk

1 cup chocolate chips

1-2 cups mini marshmallows

1.Preheat oven to 350°F and line 12 muffin cups with paper liners. In medium bowl, stir together the graham crumbs, flour, baking powder, and salt.

2. In a large bowl, beat the butter, oil and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating between each, then beat in the vanilla.

3. Add the dry ingredients in 3 additions alternately with milk in 2 additions, beginning and ending with dry ingredients.

4. Stir in the chocolate chips and divided the batter among muffin cups. Sprinkle each with a small handful of mini marshmallows.

5. Bake for 25 minutes, or until the marshmallows are puffed and golden and the cakes are springy to the touch. Cool slightly in their tins before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

MY PERSONAL EDITS:

-I added the marshmallows 10 minutes into baking. Mine slightly browned and then deflated.

-I would suggest using mini chocolate chips.

-Next time I make this, I’ll use about ½ cup more of graham cracker crumbs for more graham flavor. The chocolate takes from that original flavor.

2 thoughts on “Fight Fire with S’mores–S’more Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Swing and Snickerdoodle « frosting and all

  2. Pingback: Sarah’s Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

