Gooey Goodness–Chocolate Caramel Bites

I remember when I got braces (and while I was wearing them for about 3 years, but who was counting), one the most traumatic things was not being able to eat caramel. My favorite suckers are the Caramel Apple ones and who doesn’t love regular apples dipped in caramel. I had to think positive about all the caramel I would be able to eat with my straight teeth. And now that I have been brace-free for 2 years next month, you can bet that I eat caramel on a regular basis.

WEEK 8- CHOCOLATE CARAMEL BITES

So, I’m not really a fan of chocolate (which has been discussed earlier), but I love caramel. I really wanted something caramel, and this is the first one I stumbled upon. It started off pretty simple, mixing the dry ingredients together.

Next thing was egg, milk and oil. Not tasty looking at all.

After both were mixed separately, I added them together and blended them. It looked like chocolate batter of course.

And then it said to add boiling water. OK then…

So the recipe said that the batter would be thin. Yeah, it was. Like crazy thin. It was soup like. I’m not exactly sure what the point of thinning it out was. And as I sit here typing this, I would still like to know.

Then came the time to put it in the cups. These were mini of course so I was using a smaller scoop. I really could’ve just used a spoon. The batter was so thin that I wasn’t even pushing it out of the scooper, it was just sliding out. It was rather annoying because it was harder to control. And it wasn’t thick enough to weigh down the wrappers and push them down so I had to do that my hand.

And then they were ready to go into the oven (after a longer than necessary time of struggling).

Caramel time! So…my brother lined them up for me…

I’m actually pretty good at unwrapping caramels. I hired my mom to help me and I was doing double what she was. She was being more precise I guess.

I didn’t take pictures of melting the milk and the caramel. I kind of forget. -.- By then, 8 minutes had passed and it was time to spoon the caramel onto the cupcakes.

Because they were hot and not all baked, the caramel on top would just sit there, then it would start bubbling. When it had bubbled for a little while, it deflated and like, got sucked down into the cupcakes. I don’t even know how to describe it. It was the weirdest thing to watch.

After they baked about 5 more minutes, I pulled them out.

Once they had cooled, it was caramel drizzle time. When I open a bakery, I’m going to hire someone to drizzle for me. It was more intense than I thought it would be. And I managed to get caramel everywhere. But it all worked out.

Now I was going to taste them. They weren’t worth my time. I had to do this whole process twice because of the amount of batter it made and I only had pans for 24 cupcakes. So by the time I was tasted them, I had been in kitchen for about 2 hours and I was just ready to be done. And these weren’t what I was hoping the end product would be. They wouldn’t really coming off the wrapper very well because of how gooey they were so I had to bite it off the wrapper. The chocolate batter wasn’t really good. I think it would’ve been better with the other chocolate cake recipe I had. The second round ones tasted better because I put the caramel in a little earlier. These also didn’t really look good because when the caramel got sucked down, it created this crater in the top of the cupcake and it didn’t puff up. I won’t be making these again. It wasn’t worth it. Of course, I’m very critical because I did them but still. I did like the caramel on the top though. Caramel never disappoints.

Recipe from: The Cupcake Bible

Chocolate Caramel Bites

1 cup sugar

¾ cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

¾ teaspoon baking soda

¾ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup plus 2 tablespoons whole milk, divided

¼ cup vegetable oil

1 egg

½ cup boiling water

24 caramels (about 7 ounces)

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 36 mini muffin cups with paper baking cups.
  2. Whisk sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt in medium bowl. Beat ½ cup milk, oil and egg in large bowl with electric mixer at medium speed until well blended. Add sugar mixture; beat 2 minutes. Add water; beat at low speed until blended. (Batter will be thin.) Pour into prepared muffin cups, filling three-fourths full.
  3. Bake 2 minutes. Meanwhile, combine caramels and remaining 2 tablespoons milk in medium microwavable bowl. Microwave on HIGH 1 ½ minutes; stir. Microwave 1 minutes or until caramels are completely melted.
  4. Spoon ½ teaspoon caramel sauce over each partially-baked cupcake. Bake 2 minutes or until toothpick inserted near edges of cups comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 minutes. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.
  5. Reheat remaining caramel sauce in microwave until melted; drizzle over cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

