Don’t Drink The Lemon Juice–Lemon Cupcakes

Something I learned: lemon juice doesn’t have any calories apparently. I’m not going to advise drinking it or anything. Yeah, just take my word for it and don’t drink straight lemon juice. I did once…and it thankfully got caught on tape…I still feel the tickle in my throat when I watch myself bent over laughing but also worrying because my voice was scratchy. So, yeah, just don’t drink straight lemon juice. Or if you do, at least get it on tape so it can haunt you for the rest of your life… -.-

WEEK 7- LEMON CUPCAKES

So I think like last week or something, I said that those cupcakes were the easiest ones to make. Well…I was wrong. These were. It was so simple. Seriously, I just threw a bunch of things in a bowl and mixed.  It also involved using a box mix. Now when I use box mixes, I feel like I’m cheating. The first things were to put the dry mix of vanilla cake in a bowl as well as the lemon pudding mix.

Because of the lemon pudding, the batter was starting to turn yellow. I was amused. After that came oil and eggs.

And then some beating.

I was already ready to put them in the pan. See, I wasn’t kidding. This was as easy as pudding.

Once I filled them all, I popped them into the oven.

Well waiting the 20 minutes I had until I had to start staring at them, I made my frosting. Again, this was a cream cheese frosting. Cream cheese…I’m actually growing fonder of it because in frosting it actually isn’t too bad. This frosting was sugar, cream cheese, butter and of course, lemon juice.

Mix, mix, mix. With powdered sugar flying everywhere. And then, it was done.

Almost done anyway. I mean, these are lemon cupcakes and we know how I feel about food coloring. :)

It was then time to take the little cuppy-cakes out of the oven.

And then more waiting…Baking requires so much waiting. I had to stare at my frosting and stare at the cupcakes. Waiting for the cupcakes to be cool enough for frosting. After staring for some time, it was finally time for them to be frosted.

Before I knew it, the frosting part was done and they were ready for tasting.

They were good. I very much enjoyed them. They were very light and summer-y. The frosting and the cupcake together was very tasty. It wasn’t too over powering and they both tasted absolutely splendid on their own. I would make these again for sure. Since I’m trusted and all with making lemon flavored things because I now know, not to drink the lemon juice.

Recipe from: The Cupcake Bible Cupcakes

1 package white cake mix

1 package (4 serving size) J-ELLO Lemon Flavor Instant Pudding & Pie Filling

1 cup water

4 egg whites

2 tablespoons oil

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 package (16 ounces) powdered sugar

1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened

¼ cup (1/2 stick) butter, softened

2 tablespoons lemon juice

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Beat cake mix, dry pudding mix, water, egg whites and oil in large bowl with electric mixer on low speed until moistened. (Batter will be thick.) Beat on medium speed 2 minutes. Spoon batter evenly into 24 paper-lined muffin cups.
  2. Bake 21 to 24 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the centers comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes; remove to wire racks. Cool completely.
  3. Beat sugar, cream cheese, butter and juice with electric mixer on low speed until well blended. Frost cupcakes.

One thought on “Don’t Drink The Lemon Juice–Lemon Cupcakes

  1. Have you ever tried making a candy lemon peel? That would be a tasty yet elegant topper to your already beautiful cake.

Leave a Reply

