Just Ugly Cupcakes– Apple and Cinnamon “Cupcakes”

One of my favorite t-shirts that I have says “Muffins are just ugly cupcakes” and “Cupcakes are just haters”. That’s right, I wear talking food shirts, and they were my secret obsession for awhile. I actually didn’t decide what I was going to make until the morning of the baking adventure. Nothing was really jumping out at me, so I just made a decision. And the way I made my decision is I looked through the book chapter called “Classic Cupcakes” and picked the one that looked like it used the least amount of butter. It probably makes as much sense as flipping a coin. Because, in the world of cupcakes (and my mom’s side of the family), there is no such thing as “too much butter”. But the winner was:

WEEK 6: APPLE AND CINNAMON “CUPCAKES”

The reason that I put the word ‘cupcakes’ in quotes is because I got the recipe from a cupcake book, the book refers to them as cupcakes and as morning/cup of coffee cupcakes. Well, if you ask me, I would call that a muffin. But that’s just me.

First thing first was peeling, coring, and cutting some apples. My mom did that right before she left, because she loves me.

The first step of this batter was to beat together butter and brown sugar. I love brown sugar because it always keeps the shape of the measuring cup. Pretty sure that was cool in the 3rd grade or something, but it still makes me smile.

And then I left my camera out in the open and my mom was leaving so this is what happened when I was turned away…She clearly wanted to capture what she looked like waving goodbye…

If you recall from last week (if you even read last week…), I mentioned how I didn’t like sour cream. So what do I do the next week? Of course, pick a batter that involves sour cream. The same time I added the cinnamon, I was instructed to add sour cream. I died a little on the inside.

Then it was time to add the eggs, one at a time.

OK, this is when I noticed a mistake in the recipe. So in the ingredients, it listed baking powder…which is good because that is what helps the cupcakes to rise. Well, the next step said just to add flour. I never had to mix any dry ingredients (that usually consists of flour, salt, baking powder, etc.) so the baking powder wasn’t added left. The instructions right after the flour was about how to put them in the pan. So I made the decision to add the baking powder when I added the flour. I’ve never had to pretend to be an experienced/smart baker before, but I think I’m getting there. :) After stirring that in, the batter was DONE!

This seriously has been the fastest I’ve ever whipped a batter together. There wasn’t much to it and it was pretty simple. I think I spent equal time putting them in the pan as I did actually mixing and preparing the batter. First, I had to fill the cups a little less than half full.

Well, that wasn’t as easy as it should be. The batter was sticking so badly and went I put it in the cups, it didn’t mold to the cup. It stayed plopped in the center. So I helped it out but smoothing it a little with a spoon. To prove my point at how sticky it was, please view photo below:

And then, I had to put some apples on top of that batter. I put about 2 or 3 apple chunks in.

After that, I had to finish filling the cups ¾ full. So then you put more batter in over the top of those apples. Once that batter is in, you top with a few more apple pieces. It was like making a layer cake or something. The book said this recipe would make 24 cupcakes…yeah, I got 14, and I stretched it as much as I possibly could. So whoever makes 24 out of that should probably get an award or something.

I then popped them in the oven and waited. This one didn’t have a frosting (another reason I compare it to a muffin). The minimal batter that was left coating the side of the bowl, I ate. I dipped my extra apple chunks in it and ate it that way. It was splendid. Seriously, it didn’t even need to be cupcake form. It would be a really good fruit dip. Not that I support eating raw eggs or anything… And you couldn’t even taste the sour cream!

I cleaned up my dishes, and then I wasted more time. Then, they were done. So I took them out of the oven and was amused at what they looked like. The apples on top were pretty soft (yes, I felt one). It was a fun challenge to do the toothpick test to see if they were done because time and time again, I was hitting an apple in the center.

And then they were cooling. They all fit on one rack. That doesn’t usually happen.

So I decided that even though it didn’t call for frosting, I wanted something. The recipe actually said to heat up apricot jelly and glaze it across the top. Well that didn’t sound appealing to me, so I did the next best thing, whipped cream.

It was time to taste them. I didn’t have to waste time frosting that so it seemed like I had just started and it was already time to taste them. They were very good. They were actually splendid. But they were muffins. Although, the whipped cream helped make them not seem so muffin-y and actually I really enjoyed them with the cream and that’s how I decided I would serve them. (Yes, I did walk around with a can of whipped cream, ask my coworkers). But they were actually good on the own as well. My mom ate hers in a bowl with vanilla yogurt, which she told me was tasty as well. These are clearly very versatile cupcakes to eat. And the cinnamon and the apple shared the stage nicely. I’m going to stick to calling them muffcakes because as my friend said “It’s like a muffin because you could eat it for breakfast and not feel guilty.” And that’s very true. These would be good for breakfast, for a snack, or for dessert. It all depends: are you going to call it a cupcake or a muffin (which are just ugly cupcakes)?

Apple Cinnamon Cupcakes

Recipe from book: Cupcake Heaven

¼ cup (1 stick) sweet butter, at room temperature

¾ cup light brown sugar

¼ cup sour cream

1 ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 extra-large eggs

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

1 ½ apples, peeling, cored and sliced (I USED 2 GALA APPLES)

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line muffin pans with paper baking cups.
  2. Beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and creamy, then beat in the sour cream and cinnamon. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then sift the flour over the top and fold in. (ADD THE BAKING POWDER HERE).
  3. Spoon about half the batter into the paper baking cups, then top with a layer of apple sliced. Spoon on the remaining batter, and top with another layer of apples. Bake for about 20 minutes or until risen and golden and a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool in the pans for a few minutes, and then turn out a wire rack to cool.

One thought on “Just Ugly Cupcakes– Apple and Cinnamon “Cupcakes”

  1. Pingback: Misadventures in Applesauce « frosting and all

Leave a Reply

