Cookies in Cupcakes–Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Cookies. I like them as much as the next person. Even though I complain on a regular basis about not being able to make them, if anyone offers me a cookie, I will NOT turn it down. When my roommate and I first got in contact last summer, one of the things we bonded about was cookies (specifically dipping Oreos in peanut butter-please refer back to last week’s post about a peanut butter obsession). Oreos (or in my case, the cheap, knockoff brand) are a staple in life. How do you eat yours? Dipped in milk, eat it all at once, eat the side with the least amount of cream on it first. In case you were dying to know, I lick the cream off mine first and then eat the cookie part plain (I prefer the cookie part to the cream part. Yes, you have permission to shun me for 1 second as everyone does when I announce that). But a new way I found to eat them…in cupcakes of course.

WEEK 3- COOKIES AND CREAM CUPCAKES

So I didn’t decide what cupcakes to make until the night before. This one didn’t require me to make frosting and the only ingredient I didn’t have on hand was cookies. After work, I stopped at the store and got some cookies and was ready.  After getting everything out, and then filling the pan with liners (which I don’t usually do until the end but for some reason I did it first this time), I was about to start. My family was all home again, so I had help walking in and out of the kitchen and I “hired” them to take some pictures for me.

First things: flour, baking powder and salt. Nothing too thrilling. Then add sugar. Yay sugar! You will see the picture shows “1/3 cup”. Well, I had to do that five times. And again I say, yay sugar!

Following that up were the wet ingredients. Because they were all added at once, it didn’t look very appetizing before mixing it.

I’m pretty sure my mom’s favorite thing is mixing…well it at least seems that way. So I had been getting out the mixer and she wanted to just mix it by hand a little first. “Sarah, you don’t always have to use the mixer”. So she mixed it with her tiny/adorable hands for me.

She was then saying it was too thick. What she didn’t know was I was about to add the egg whites. My least favorite thing happening again, separating eggs. I guess I could always just add the yolks in but I don’t want my white cake to have a yellow tint, call me crazy/a wee bit obsessive. :)

Then there was more mixing to be done. I decided to use the mixer this round.

And then my mom reappeared to show me how it was done. Again I say that she enjoys mixing…

Now was the time to stir in the cookie pieces. Up until now, it was a pretty basic vanilla batter. My mom has this fancy chopper thing with a blade that spins and chops things. It was a pretty extreme way to crush cookies, but it worked out rather nicely. It made an intense noise when crushing as well. It added to the thrill of the adventure. :)

And that was it. For some reason making this batter seemed insanely simple compared to the others. But it was equally splendid (yes, I always lick batter off the spoon/mixer). It was ready to be scooped (into the pans I had already put liners in…).

Scoop and drop. Scoop and drop. Scoop and drop. Repeat approx. two dozen times. Then complete.

These were ready to be popped into the oven then. Well first I had to wait for the oven to get preheated. I have a tendency to preheat the oven too early. This time I almost forgot to preheat the oven so I had a few minutes to just stare at the oven and wait.

So this recipe just called for a container of frosting. These past two weeks during the baking time, I’ve been occupied making frosting. Not this time. This time I just had to wait. And I got bored. Then my friend came over and chatted with me while I stared at the oven waiting for the final minutes to be done.

When I took them out of the oven, I was kind of surprised by what I saw. Some of the liners got filled a little full (which I knew before putting them in the oven), so some had large tops. And all of the cupcakes didn’t puff up. The tops baked flat. I’ve never had this happen before. I know they are “cookies and cream” cupcakes, but some of these cupcakes look like I set a cookie directly on top of the cupcake. It was a little strange. It made me laugh for quite some time though.

While waiting for them to cool, I asked (aka forced) my friend to crush cookies for me. Along with the frosting on top, it also gets garnished with crushed cookies. These cookies I didn’t want as small so we just put them in a storage bag and she crushed away. While she crushed away, I was going all paparazzi on her.

After staring at the cupcakes for some time, I declared it time to frost them. Frosting was amusing. I was in the kitchen with my mom and my friend. They then started telling (wait…did I say telling…I meant harassing) me about my lack of frosting use. I tend to put very little frosting on things. I’m not sure why, I have always just lightly covered the top. Well that was deemed not acceptable. So, of course, I ended up having to frost most of the cupcakes twice (because I had to go back over them with a more acceptable amount of frosting).  I think I will enjoy piping on frosting because I don’t have as much control over the amount of frosting. To make a cute swirl, more frosting is needed, which, in turn, makes more people happy. Including me, I will point out, because then I won’t get harassed for lack of frosting.

After I frosted everything and frosted them again, it was time to add the crushed cookie. When I was putting them on, they kept falling through the spaces in my wire rack. I then made my BFF come over and pick up the rack so I could save the cookie piece. Then I just started doing it to be annoying, but that’s what best friends do. :)

And yes, I do always smile at my baked goods. Well…not really…but I do smile a little too much…and baking does make me excited. :D

Completed and time for the tasting. Some of them were rather awkward to eat. Because they were flat on top and some of the cups that were fuller went out far. So the top would start to come unattached from the bottom of the cupcake. Basically, you had to hold it with two hands and well…attack it.

They were actually really tasty. They were a bit heavier than the other cupcakes I’ve made, but they were very moist. They tasted like something I’ve had before…I’m not sure what it was they tasted like, and no one else could figure it out either. My guess is those cookies and creams candy bars or ice cream or something. But they are like I’ve ate it before, just not in cupcake form (yeah, that probably makes little to no sense). My mom did announce that she knew “well they don’t taste like pancakes or anything.” Thanks for clearing that up mom…

Here’s the recipe for this one as well. It was good one and I would make it again.

From The Cupcake Bible

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 2/3 cups sugar

1 cup milk

½ cup (1 stick) butter, softened

2 teaspoons vanilla

3 egg whites

1 cup crushed chocolate sandwich cookies (about 10 cookies), plus additional for garnish

1 container (16 ounces) vanilla frosting

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Lightly grease 24 standard muffin cups or line with paper baking cups.
  2. Sift flour, baking powder and salt into large bowl. Stir in sugar. Add milk, butter and vanilla; beat with electric mixer at low speed 30 seconds. Beat at medium speed 2 minutes. Add egg whites; beat 2 minutes. Stir in 1 cup crushed cookies. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling two-thirds full.
  3. Bake 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted into centers comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 minutes. Remove to wire racks; cool completely.
  4. Frost cupcakes; garnish with additional crushed cookies.

Makes 24 cupcakes

One thought on “Cookies in Cupcakes–Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

  1. I actually made a cake that way for Samuel’s b-day last year. Then I froze the cake made homemade cookies’n’cream ice cream and added it to the top of the cake and froze again. Perfect amount of cake and ice cream.

Leave a Reply

